Yvan Allaire Medal

The Royal Society of Canada has created the Yvan Allaire Medal in Governance which will be awarded annually to a scholar for the quality of his or her research and publications in the field of governance.

Founded in 1882, the Royal Society of Canada (RSC) comprises established leaders across the Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences as well as emerging leaders in The College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists. The object of the RSC is to serve Canada and the world by recognizing Canada’s leading scientists, scholars, and artists, and mobilizing them in open discussion to advance knowledge and understanding of critical issues with a view toward contributing to a better future.

In September 2018, the Royal Society of Canada has awarded the first Yvan Allaire Medal in Governance to Donald J. Savoie, OC, ONB, FRSC, D.Phil., D. ès L., professor and holder of the Canada Research Chair in Public Administration and Governance at the Université de Moncton.

This medal, along with a $5,000 prize, recognizes a distinguished contribution in the area of governance in Canada. It is named for Professor Yvan Allaire, FRSC, executive chair of IGOPP, in honour of his remarkable role, through his writings as well as the co-founder of the Institute on Governance, in the field of strategy and governance in Quebec and in Canada over the last 30 years.

List of laureats

Poonam Puri – 2021

Anita Anand – 2019

Réal Labelle – 2019

Donald J. Savoie – 2018

Yvan Allaire Medal in Governance